Raspberry Gelato

Remember when I told you I got an ice cream maker for Christmas?  Well it’s time to whip it out again!!!  Hurray for warm weather!  The last time I used my ice cream maker was to make this Tequila Lime Ice Cream, which I can tell you for sure that I will be making again!  Actually I totally already have tehee… What can I say I have a serious weakness for delicious ice cream! Especially when there is tequila involved!

Raspberry Gelato8

Who knew an ice cream maker is also used to make gelato, well I didn’t!! I never really thought about how they make gelato, but I suppose it makes total sense!

Raspberry Gelato1

There is this little gelato place in Vancouver’s west end called Mondo Gelato that I am totally obsessed with.  If you like gelato, and you are in Vancouver, you must go check this place out!!!  It’s not overly expensive, and totally serves up some of the BEST gelato I have ever had!

Raspberry Gelato10

Just the other weekend I was over in the West End of Vancouver and Andrew and I stopped over for some gelato.   Andrew  had this raspberry gelato that was seriously the most amazing tasting gelato I have ever tried!  I knew I had to try some recipe to replicate it!

Raspberry Gelato4

And then BAM!  Here it is, just like that I made myself (and Andrew) some fabulous raspberry gelato that is irresistible!

Raspberry Gelato9

 

I’m pretty amazed at how much raspberry flavour pulls through  in this ice cream.

Raspberry Gelato

Raspberry Gelato

Ingredients

12 oz. fresh or frozen raspberries
2/3 cup sugar
2 cups whole milk
1/2 cup heavy cream
1 tsp lime juice (or lemon juice)

Directions
Combine the berries, sugar and milk in a blender and process until smooth. Pour into a large bowl and add in the heavy cream and lime (or lemon) juice, mixing just enough to combine. You do not want to whip the cream. Cover and refrigerate for at least 4 hours or up to over night.

Transfer mixture into an ice cream maker and freeze according to manufacturers instructions. (Mine is a kitchenaid, so I put it on stir fr 30-40 minutes until it is half frozen). Transfer half-frozen gelato into a container and freeze overnight. Take out of the freezer and let sit for about 5 minutes before scooping and serving.

Raspberry Gelato6

Enjoy!

xx Candice

21 thoughts on “Raspberry Gelato

  1. This looks ah-maze-ing I lived in Rome for four months and have been craving for some authentic gelato. Raspberry is the perfect flavor for the spring weather!

  2. I LOVE gelato! This looks delicious! Your reference to Mondo Gelato brought me back to when my older sister had an apartment on Davies and Cardero. We used to go there all the time.

  3. Pingback: Summer Festivities: Recipe Roundup | everybody loves pretty

Leave a comment