Fresh Whiskey Sour

Happy Friday!!  What better way to celebrate than with an adorable cocktail!  It`s been a very warm and sunny week here in Vancouver.  Temperatures have reached around 25 degrees Celsius the past few days, crazy right?! But hey I am not complaining, and instead celebrating with a refreshing cocktail!  As I’ve said before, I love sour! Lemons, limes, grapefruit,  you name it, I’ll eat it 🙂 Plus what screams summer better than fresh lemon aid!   I not only enjoy putting these sour fruits in desserts (as seen in my Lemon Chia Seed Muffins, or my Tequila Lime Ice Cream) but also in my drinks!  I’m a real Canadian girl and definitely love my whiskey and beer.  It was only natural for me to make a fresh whiskey sour to combine my love of sour with my love of whiskey!

Fresh Whiskey Sour2

I actually love putting whiskey inside my baking as well! Check out this Whiskey Apple Sauce.  I find Whiskey to be extremely versatile, and goes extremely well with fruits!

Fresh Whiskey Sour5

I got this pretty awesome mason jar martini shaker from Homesense the other day – how adorable is it!!  It’s actually one of the reasons I was inspired to make a cocktail! – That, and it’s Friday…

Fresh Whiskey Sour4

This drink doesn’t kid around when it says sour… Wowie my lips were certainly puckered, just the way I like them!!

Fresh Whiskey Sour1

If you would like to cut down on the sour, I’d suggest using a bit more simple syrup to sweeten it up!

Fresh Whiskey Sour3

Fresh Whiskey Sour

Ingredients
3/4 cup whiskey
1/2 cup freshly squeezed lemon juice (2-3 large lemons, depending on the size)
1/2 cup freshly squeezed lime juice (3-4 limes, depending how juicy they are)
2/3 cup simple syrup (recipe below)
Ice cubes
Maraschino cherries

Directions
Combine the whiskey, lemon juice, lime juice, and syrup.  Fill a cocktail shaker halfway with ice and pour in the drink mix 2/3 full. Shake drink and pour into glasses.  Add a maraschino cherry and serve ice cold.

To make the sugar syrup, bring 1 cup of water and 1 cup of sugar to a boil, and simmer until the sugar is completely dissolved. Chill before using. – Easy as that! (You can use simple syrup in baking, icing, and numerous drink recipes)

Fresh Whiskey Sour6

Enjoy!

xx Candice

13 thoughts on “Fresh Whiskey Sour

  1. As soon as I’m done with nursing I’m trying it 🙂 and since in Montreal we had 30 degrees I’ll need to stick to the virgin version 🙂

  2. Pingback: Sunshine Sips: Cocktail Recipe Roundup | everybody loves pretty

  3. Pingback: April and May 2014: A Review | Once in a Blue Spoon

  4. Pingback: Magnificent May: Recipe Roundup | everybody loves pretty

Leave a comment