Chicken Pot Pie Soup

My 2013 resolution, which I prefer to call a goal, was to be healthier in general. This includes everything from working out, eating healthy and spending more time with loved ones. I can honestly say that I kept all of those up (for the most part) until the holidays. Now I’m trying to get myself back on track. For me, eating healthy is most definitely the hardest part. One really helpful blog that I use constantly is Skinnytaste. If you haven’t you should definitely check it out. This Chicken Pot Pie Soup comes from there and I’ve added a few small touches of my own in the recipe below!

soup

Ingredients
Ingredients:

1/4 cup flour
2 cups water
4 cups 1% milk
1 large celery stalk, chopped
1/2 medium chopped onion
8 oz sliced button mushrooms
2 chicken bouillons
fresh ground pepper
pinch of thyme
2 bay leaves
10 oz frozen classic mixed vegetables (peas, carrots, green beans, corn)
2 potatoes, peeled and cubed small
1 large (or 2 small) poached chicken breast, diced small
salt

Directions

Poach the chicken breast until cooked. I followed the directions here and used chicken broth and rosemary.

Chicken

Combine 1/2 cup of the cold water with flour in a medium bowl and whisk until well blended. Set aside.

Pour remaining water and milk into a large pot and slowly bring to a boil. Add celery, onion, mushrooms, chicken boullion, thyme, fresh pepper, frozen vegetables and bay leaves to the pot and return to a boil. Partially cover and simmer on low until vegetables are soft, about 20 minutes. In the last 5 minutes of cooking the vegetables, add the potatoes to the pot. After the full 20 minutes has passed add chicken, and slowly whisk in slurry, stirring well as you add. Cook another 2-3 minutes, until soup thickens, adjust salt and pepper to taste and serve.

pot of soup

This soup is very filling with all the vegetables and also very low in calories if you’re a calorie counter. It is the perfect healthy soup that is sure to warm you up!

Enjoy,

xxS

2 thoughts on “Chicken Pot Pie Soup

Leave a comment